News Categories

Important Message: Information About Your Drinking Water

Our water system is no longer in violation of drinking water standards.

We routinely monitor for the presence of drinking water contaminants. On June 14, 2022, we recieved notice that the sample collected on November 17, 2021 showed our system exceeded the standard, or maximum contaminant level for 1,2,3-Tri-chloropropane (TCP).

After following all State guidelines, the Borough water system has satisfied all requirements of the New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection and all follow-up sampled have showed undetectable readings for 1,2,3-TCP.


Mayor & Council

The Borough form remains the single most popular form of local government in New Jersey. This form dates back to the Borough Act of 1878 and was revised in 1897 and by the Borough Act of 1987. The Borough mayor is elected at-large to a four-year term. Six council members are elected at-large4 to staggered three-year terms.

The Borough form is often referred to as a “weak mayor-strong council” form. The mayor retains all general law authority, presides over council meetings and can vote in the case of a tie. The mayor appoints, with the advice and consent of council, all subordinate officers of the municipality. The council is the legislative body of the Borough. All executive responsibilities not placed in the office of the Mayor by general law or the Borough law remain with the council.

Like the other traditional forms, a Borough may appoint an administrator and delegate all or a portion of the executive responsibilities to him/her. The council may also adopt an administrative code, prescribing how the council shall perform it duties. As of 2006, 218 New Jersey municipalities operate under this form.

Contact Information:


Joseph Nametko

Phone: 973-347-0252 ext. 107



Borough Council Meetings Held at 7:30 PM, The First & Second Thursdays Of Each Month in the Borough Council Chambers, unless otherwise specified.


Name Designation Committee Term Expiration
Joseph Nametko Mayor 12/31/2023
Jack Sylvester Councilperson Public Safety 12/31/2023
J.W. Albensi Councilperson Public Works 12/31/2024
Robert Hathaway Councilperson Economic Development 12/31/2025
Thomas Laureys Councilperson Public Services 12/31/2025
Todd Morton Councilperson Recreation 12/31/2024
Elmer Still Councilperson Finance 12/31/2023



About the Members:

Joseph A. Nametko, Mayor

Joe has been a Netcong resident since 1979 where he lives with his wife Olivia and two sons, Brian and Matthew. He earned an AA in Computer Science from the County College of Morris and a BA in Economics from Farleigh Dickinson University.

In March 2007, Joe took over as Mayor to fill the unexpired term of Nick Pompilio and was elected Mayor in November 2007 to a four year term that began in January 2008.  Prior to becoming Mayor, Joe was a Councilman for seven years during which time he chaired the Finance/Insurance and the Economic Development committees.  Joe is also member of Morris County€™s Solid Wasted Advisory Committee (SWAC) since 2005.

John “Jack” Sylvester Jr. Council – Chair Public Safety

Jack is a lifelong resident of Netcong. Married to his wife JoyAnn they have a son, Jack III, and a daughter Corinne. He is a 29 year member and past chief of the Netcong Fire Department.  He is currently president of Hilltop Fire Department No. 2 and serves as Vice President of the St. Cesario Society. He is a 15 year member of the Morris County Republican Committee and Commissioner to the Musconetcong Sewer Authority.

Elmer Still – Chair Finance Committee

Elmer is a lifelong resident of Netcong. He served as a council member from 1991 – 1996 and 2002 until present. During that time he has served the Borough as Council President in 2005 and 2008, he also has chaired the following Committees Finance and Insurance, Recreation, Public Safety, Economic Development and Human Services and is a member of the Planning Board as the Council representative.

He is a 28 year member of the Netcong Fire Department and is currently the Vice President and secretary of Hilltop Fire Co. # 2. He served as Fire Chief from 2000- 2001.

Robert Hathaway, Council – Chair of Economic Development Committee

Joseph Albensi, Council – Chair of Public Works Committee

Thomas Laureys, Council – Chair Public Services

Todd Morton – Chair of Recreation Committee

Recent News

Recent Alerts

  • Fire Hydrant Flushing
    on October 1, 2023 at 7:00 pm

    The Borough of Netcong will be conducting night time hydrant flushing beginning October 1 through October 6. The work will be performed throughout the entire water system during non-peak water usage hours between 10pm-5am and will minimize disruption of water service. Please do not be alarmed if Borough employees are working at a hydrant near your home.

WP2Social Auto Publish Powered By :